Penn State Hotel and Restaurant Society Names ARAMARK’s Andrew Kerin 2008 Hospitality Executive of the Year

August 22, 2008

Andrew Kerin, executive vice president, ARAMARK Corporation, and president, ARAMARK North America Food, Hospitality and Facility Services, has been named the 2008 Hospitality Executive of the Year by the Penn State Hotel and Restaurant Society (PSHRS). Mr. Kerin will receive the award during the 47th Hospitality Executive of the Year Award Dinner on Sunday, November 9, 2008 at the Sheraton New York Hotel and Towers in New York City. As part of the honor, Mr. Kerin will also be inducted into the “Penn State Hospitality Hall of Fame,” located at the Nittany Lion Inn on Penn State’s University Park campus.

“We are honored to induct Mr. Kerin into the Penn State Hospitality Hall of Fame, and to pay tribute to both his accomplishments at ARAMARK and his contributions to the hospitality industry,” said Debbie Ulrich, president and CEO of Sysco Food Services of Central PA, LLC and president of the Penn State Hotel and Restaurant Society. “In recognizing Andrew Kerin, we also recognize ARAMARK’s tradition of excellence in the hospitality industry.”

ARAMARK is a global leader in professional services, providing award-winning food services, facilities management, and uniform and career apparel to health care institutions, universities and school districts, stadiums and arenas, and businesses.

“It is my honor to accept this award from Penn State,” said Kerin. “ARAMARK has had a long relationship with the Penn State Hospitality School and many of our team members are distinguished graduates who add professionalism and enthusiasm to what they do at ARAMARK each and every day.”

“We are delighted and honored that Andrew Kerin will join our list of corporate executives who value the role of education in business,” said Bert van Hoof, director of the School of Hospitality Management. “ARAMARK has been a very supportive corporate partner to our program for many years, and we are proud that many of our alumni are employed by ARAMARK. In honoring him our alumni society recognizes not only the bond between ARAMARK and the Penn State School of Hospitality Management, but also the growing relationship between academia and the hospitality industry.”

In his present leadership position as executive vice president, and president, North America Food, Hospitality and Facility Services, of ARAMARK Corporation, Mr. Kerin is responsible for all of the company’s U.S. and Canadian-based food, hospitality, and facilities businesses including the management of professional services in healthcare institutions, universities, schools, business locations, entertainment and sports venues, correctional facilities, and hospitality venues.

From January 2004 through April 2006, he served as president, ARAMARK Healthcare and Education, where he led a team that managed ARAMARK Healthcare Management Services and ARAMARK’s Education group serving the higher education market and the K-12 segment with both food and facility services.

Prior to this, Mr. Kerin was president, ARAMARK Facilities and Healthcare Group. In that capacity, he led the company’s healthcare support services and facility services businesses, including ARAMARK ServiceMaster Facility Services, which provided food and nutrition, laundry and linen, plant operations and maintenance, clinical equipment maintenance, energy and technical services, housekeeping, grounds keeping and other services for clients in the business, sports and entertainment, education and healthcare sectors.

Mr. Kerin joined ARAMARK as vice president of facilities support services in 1995. He is a former president of ARAMARK’s Correctional Services business and Facility Services Group.

The Penn State Hotel and Restaurant Society was created in 1948 by alumni and friends of the School of Hospitality Management in Penn State’s College of Health and Human Development. PSHRS and the school created the Hospitality Executive of the Year Award in 1960 to honor individuals who exemplify the successful leadership characteristics and who strive to instill those in students and to convey them to alumni and colleagues.

“Mr. Kerin joins a list of ‘Who’s Who’ among Hospitality Executives at Penn State's School of Hospitality Management,” said Mr. Paul Howard, director of hospitality industry relations in the School of Hospitality Management. Last year’s award recipient was Tom Giannopoulos, chairman, president and CEO of MICROS Systems, Inc. Previous winners include Richard Schnieders, chairman and chief executive officer of SYSCO Corporation; James Broadhurst, chairman and chief executive officer, Eat’n Park Hospitality Group; Robert F. Cotter, president and chief operating officer of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Inc.; Allan L. Schuman, chairman, president and chief executive officer of Ecolab, Inc.; Michel Landel, president and chief executive officer of Sodexho; Marilyn Carlson Nelson, chairman and CEO of Carlson Companies, Inc.; Joseph Neubauer, chairman and CEO, ARAMARK; Henry R. Silverman, chairman and CEO, HFS Incorporated; Herman Cain, former president, Godfather’s Pizza; Raymond Schultz, former president and CEO, Promus Hotel Corporation; J.W. Marriott, Jr., chairman and president, Marriott Corporation; Barron Hilton, chairman and president, Hilton Hotels Corporation; and Walter J. Conti, a member of the Penn State Board of Trustees, retired owner of Conti’s Cross Keys Inn and Pipersville Inn in Doylestown (Pennsylvania), and creator of the distinguished Conti Professorship in the School of Hospitality Management.


Editors: For additional information, please contact the College of Health and Human Development Office of College Relations at 814-865-3831 or