Skip to main content
Faculty/Staff Resources
Search search
Mobile Search:
Ford Building aerial shot

Annual Stanley P. Mayers Endowed Lecture

The Stanley P. Mayers Endowed Lecture is regularly conducted each Spring. Stanley P. Mayers, Jr. M.D., co-founded the Penn State undergraduate program in the Department of Health Policy and Administration.

2021 Stanley P. Mayers Speaker

Speaking for those who are unable to speak for themselves is what drives Elena Hung. Her passion and dedication to helping children with complex medical needs led her to co-found Little Lobbyists, an organization that seeks to protect and expand the rights of children who have complex medical needs and disabilities through advocacy, education and outreach.

Hung, who is the executive director of Little Lobbyists and an immigration lawyer, will deliver the this year's Stanley P. Mayers Endowed Lecture on April 7, 2021. Learn more about this year's event.

About the lecture icon-olus-circle

Stanley P. Mayers, a member of the Mount Nittany Society, the University’s highest donor-recognition group, has given his own personal resources to support outstanding students in the College of Health and Human Development. In honor of his late wife, he established the Virginia L. Mayers Memorial Scholarship Endowment in 1992.

HPA faculty members, staff, and alumni are committed to enlarging the endowment and have unanimously supported the initiative with their own private contributions. The fund enhances the education of students and expertise of faculty members in areas that continue to honor Dr. Mayers’ contributions as a professor, administrator and philanthropist. Today, the principal challenge for HPA is to stay abreast of changes in the industry while continuing to serve the public interest.

The endowment provides funds to enrich the department’s outreach activities, examples include: creating a public lecture series, enhancing field-based professional development for faculty members, and acquiring health care-specific teaching materials. Established as an endowment, the fund will provide income for the HPA department in perpetuity.

About Dr. Mayers icon-olus-circle

Stanley P. Mayers head shotStanley P. Mayers Jr., M.D., co-founder of Penn State’s undergraduate program in the Department of Health Policy and Administration (HPA), retired after a distinguished twenty-six year career with Penn State. The second-largest in the college to recruit outstanding first-year students and provide financial assistance to deserving and financially needy students, Mayers served as head of the Department of Health Policy and Administration for nine years and as associate dean for undergraduate studies and academic studies in the College of Health and Human Development. He brought extensive experience in public health and critical perspectives on the role of medicine in society to his students and colleagues. A tireless adviser and advocate for students, Mayers enhanced the Penn State experience for many graduates.

Past lectures icon-olus-circle

The Health Policy and Administration department aims to accomplish its mission of developing leaders and knowledge to improve health and health care.

Past speakers:

  • 2019: Elisabeth Rosenthal, MD, editor-in-chief, Kaiser Health News
  • 2018: David Nash, founding dean, Jefferson College of Population Health,
  • 2017: Maureen Bisogano, president emerita and senior fellow, Institute for Healthcare Improvement
  • 2016: Sorrel King, co--founder, Josie King Foundation
  • 2015: Eugene A. Woods, president and chief operation officer, CHRISTUS Health
  • 2014: James Kevin Stoller, MD, chairman of Education Institute at the Cleveland Clinic
  • 2013: Mary Naylor, professor, Gerontology, University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing
  • 2012: David Katz, MD, MPH, FACPM, FACP, founding director, Yale University Prevention Research Center
  • 2011: Craig Hillemeier, retired CEO, Penn State Health; E. Eugene Marsh, senior associate dean, Penn State college of Medicine; Alan Zuckerman, president, Health Strategies & Soluations, Inc.
  • 2010: David Nash, MD, MBA, Professor, health policy and medicine, Jefferson Medical College of Thomas Jefferson University
  • 2009: Bruce Bagley, MD, medical director for quality improvement, American Academy of Family Physicians
  • 2008: Diane E. Meier, MD, FACP, director, Center to Advance Palliative Care
  • 2007: Albert Wu, MD, MPH, professor, health policy and management, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
  • 2006: Carolyn Clancy, MD, director, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Department of Health and Human Services
  • 2005: Fitzhugh Mullan, MD, clinical professor, George Washington University
  • 2004: William W. Sage, MD, JD, professor of law, Columbia University
  • 2003: David Leach, MD, executive director, Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education
  • 2002: Bruce R. Korf, MD, Ph.D., medical director, Harvard-Partners Center for Genetics and Genomics
  • 2001: Peter A. Ubel, MD, associate professor of medicine, University of Michigan
  • 2000: Douglas L. Mayers, MD, division head, Henry Ford Hospital
  • 1999: John M. Esienberg, MD, administrator, Agency for Health Care Policy Research
  • 1998: Stanley P. Mayers Jr., MD, professor emeritus, health policy and administration, Penn State