Skip to main content
Search search
Mobile Search:

The Pattishall Outstanding Research Achievement Award honors a tenured or tenure-track faculty member’s outstanding research contributions occurring or culminating within the past several years.


The College of Health and Human Development and its Alumni Society wish to recognize and reward outstanding researchers for advancing the frontiers of knowledge.

The Outstanding Research Achievement Award is established to affirm the important role that significant research accomplishments play in a fully-developed program of Health and Human Development education.


  • All tenured or tenure-track faculty are eligible.
  • Candidate must have evidence of significant scholarly contributions
    in the past five years.
  • Candidate must have a major discovery or contributed a significant
    advance to the field.

Nominating Procedure

The nomination shall consist of the following:

  1. A resume or curriculum vita.
  2. One comprehensive support letter that details how the candidate’s research contributions meet the award criteria and identifies the nature and significance of the faculty member’s recent contributions to knowledge. The letter should be signed by the department head and two other nominators.
  3. Summary of research conducted
  4. List of publications from the last five years only
  5. Other information pertinent to the candidate’s accomplishments


Selection will be made by a committee, including alumni representation, appointed by the Dean of the College of Health and Human Development.


Past recipients are not eligible for a period of five years.


The recipient will receive a monetary award and a plaque.


The nomination period for this award is open until May 31.

Submittal Process

Completed nomination packets can be submitted by one of these three ways:

  1. Mail:
    Lindsey Zapletal
    Alumni Relations
    College of Health and Human Development
    325 HHD Building
    University Park, PA 16802-6501
  2. Email:
    Lindsey Zapletal at LMZ13@PSU.EDU
  3. Online:
    Evan G. and Helen G. Pattishall Outstanding Research Achievement Award nomination
Past Recipients icon-olus-circle
2018 Thomas J. Gould, BBH
2017 Lacy Alexander, KINES
2016 Semyon Slobounov, KINES
2015 Douglas M. Teti, HDFS
2014 Dennis Scanlon, HPA
2013 Leann Birch, HDFS, NUTR
2012 Jennifer Maggs, HDFS
2011 Linda Collins, Methodology Center/HDFS
2010 David Almeida, HDFS
2009 Rob Turrisi, BBH
2008 Robert Sainburg, KINES
2007 Robert Eckhardt, KINES
2006 Barbara J. Rolls, NUTR
2005 Anthony D'Augelli, HDFS
2004 Ann Crouter, HDFS
2003 Pamela Farley Short, HPA
2002 Janice Light, CSD
2001 Mark Latash, KINES
2000 Linda Burton, HDFS
1999 Cynthia Stifter, HDFS
1998 Susan McHale, HDFS
1997 W. Larry Kenney, KINES
1996 A. Catherine Ross, NUTR
1995 Steve Zarit, HDFS
1994 Elizabeth J. Susman, BBH
1993 Lynne Vernon-Feagans, HDFS
1992 Michael A. Smyer, HDFS
Penny M. Kris-Etherton, NUTR
1991 Sherry Willis, HDFS
Michael Green, NUTR
1990 Alexander von Eye, HDFS
Mary Frances Picciano, NUTR
1989 John Beard, NUTR