Skip to main content
Search search
Mobile Search:

The Evelyn R. Saubel Faculty Award honors a faculty member committed to human service who is an accessible advisor in both academic and career decisions, who demonstrates a caring, professional style and who symbolizes HHD values.


Any College of Health and Human Development faculty member who has been on the faculty for at least three years and who works with undergraduates.


The individual:

  • is committed to human service and serving students
  • symbolizes values toward which the College is directed
  • is accessible as an advisor
  • is a valued resource person for students in making career decisions
  • demonstrates a caring, professional style

Nominating Procedure

The nomination shall consist of the following:

  1. Resume or curriculum vita. The resume/CV should include:
    1. number of students (both undergraduate and graduate) the nominee has advised during the last three years
    2. a list of other pertinent activities (e.g. student organizations advised)
  2. One comprehensive support letter with three signatures that details how the candidate meets the award criteria.


Selection will be made by a committee including alumni representation, appointed by the Dean of the College of Health and Human Development.


The recipient will receive a monetary award and a plaque.


The nomination period is open until May 31.

Submittal Process

Completed nomination packets can be submitted by one of these three ways:

  1. Mail:
    Lindsey Zapletal
    Alumni Relations
    College of Health and Human Development
    325 HHD Building
    University Park, PA 16802-6501
  2. Email:
    Lindsey Zapletal at LMZ13@PSU.EDU
  3. Online:
    Evelyn R. Saubel Faculty Award
Past Recipients icon-olus-circle

Shannon Corkery, HDFS
Brian Soule, RPTM


Maria Dawson, HPA
Lesley Ross, HDFS

2016 Lori Gravish-Hurtack, KINES
Carol A. Miller, CSD
2015 Bart Bartlett, HM
Shawnee Kelly, NUTR
2014 Jeffrey Heim, HM
Elizabeth "Lisa" Myers, KINES
2013 Vanessa Wade, HDFS
2012 Brenda Eissenstat, NUTR
2011 Stephanie Lovell, RPTM
2010 Constance Kossan, CSD
2009 Sharon “Chickie” Krimmel, KINES
2008 Eva Lefkowitz, HDFS
2007 Lauren Kramer, KINES
2006 Carolyn H. Johnson, HDFS
2005 Douglas Coatsworth, HDFS
2004 Robert Prosek, CSD
2003 Nancy Kurtz, HDFS
2002 Paulette Berner, NURS
2001 Linda Morrow, BBH/NUTR
2000 Frank Ahern, BBH
1999 Judith Klinefelter, NURS
1998 Robert Ricketts, KINES
1997 Tom Frank, CMDIS
1996 Susan J. Loeb, NURS
1995 Dennis Shea, HPA
1994 John A. Lucas, KINES
1993 Janet Atwood, KINES
1992 Gary J. Fosmire, NUTR
1991 Wesley A. Olsen, KINES
1990 Deborah Kerstetter, RPM
1989 Grace Laubach, NURS
1988 Peter Bordi, HR&IM