Skip to main content
Search search
Mobile Search:

The College of Health and Human Development Outreach Award honors an individual who has made significant leadership contributions to the outreach mission of the College of Health and Human Development.

The College of Health and Human Development recognize outreach as faculty-led initiatives and activities that generate, transmit, and enhance knowledge between the University and external audiences in the commonwealth, the nation, and the world. Outreach work can take on a number of forms, including but not limited to credit and noncredit instruction, technical assistance, demonstration projects, evaluation studies, and policy analysis.


All full time faculty and staff members in the College of Health and Human Development are eligible.


  • The candidate has demonstrated leadership in developing, directing, or enhancing outreach activities as part of his/her work for the College.
  • The candidate’s outreach work has led to sustainable projects or has made a significant positive impact on those served.


The nomination should include the following:

  1. A current resume or curriculum vita
  2. A letter of support (signed by two nominators) that describes the outreach leadership contributions of the candidate
  3. A statement of support from the department head or school director of the academic unit in which the candidate holds his or her primary appointment.


Selection will be made by a committee appointed by the Dean and the Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies and Outreach.


Past recipients are not eligible for a period of five years.


The recipient will receive a monetary award and a plaque.


The nomination period for this award is open until May 31.

Submittal Process

Completed nomination packets can be submitted by one of these three ways:

  1. Mail:
    Lindsey Zapletal
    Alumni Relations
    College of Health and Human Development
    325 HHD Building
    University Park, PA 16802-6501
  2. Email:
    Lindsey Zapletal at LMZ13@PSU.EDU
  3. Online:
    Leadership in Outreach Award nomination
Past Recipients icon-olus-circle
2018 Krista Wilkinson, CSD
2017 Christopher Bopp, KINES
2016 Shannon A. Corkery, HDFS
2015 Brian K. Bumbarger, EPC Prevention Research Center
2014 Peter Bordi, HM
2013 - no recipient -
2012 William Buckley, KINES
2011 Leann Birch, Center for Childhood Obesity Research
2010 Patricia Barthalow Koch, BBH
2009 Linda Caldwell, RPTM
2008 Mark Greenberg, Prevention Research Center
2007 Fred Vondracek, HDFS/Dean’s Office